Movie Review: Taken 2

If you lie with dogs, you get fleas; if you go to Europe with Liam Neeson, you get kidnapped.  ~  John Beifuss via Commercial Appeal. 

I am going to preface by saying that if you haven’t seen the first Taken movie then you’re seriously missing out.  Liam Neeson is a serious badass in that movie. 

The first Taken movie wasn’t really hyped up at all.  I honestly don’t even remember seeing a preview for it but somehow the Hubs and I found ourselves at the movie theatre one night watching it and let me tell you – we LOVED it.  The movie was phenomenal.  So, when we heard there was a second one coming out we were psyched. 

I’d heard that Taken 2 wasn’t nearly as good as Taken but let’s face it, the sequels are rarely as good as the originals (unless it’s Aliens).  Still – we had to go see it.  So… off to the theatre we went.

If you’re hoping for even a hint here of the original’s appeal, allow me to quote the immortal words of Marko from Tropoja: ‘Good luck.’  ~ Rick Kisonak via Film Threat

Sadly, the critics were right… it’s not nearly as good as the first one.  The story line is very thin and there just doesn’t seem to be much really going on.  It’s almost as if they made a movie of Liam Neeson fight scenes.  I’m a bit disappointed.  I’m not certain that we’ll be buying this one… unless they come out with a Taken 3… in which case then we’ll have to. 

Have you seen this movie?  Did you think the plot was lacking?

2 responses to “Movie Review: Taken 2

  1. Karen

    Is there any chance you’d be willing to sell the turtle ring?! I lost the exact same ring (which belonged to my mother’s), and I can’t find it anywhere to purchase it!

    • So sorry to hear that you lost your ring – unfortunately my husband has a serious love of sea turtles and this is his favorite piece of my jewelry so I’m unwilling to part with it at this time. I hope you find wjat you’re looking for!

Leave a Reply

