One reason I love snail mail (part 6)…

I know I just told you about my September BirchBox (albeit really late) but I’m back to tell you about my October BirchBox.

Here’s the rundown of what was in my box (prices are for full-size product):

Lucy B Pink Frangipani & Wild Jasmine Roll-On Perfume Oils:  $24 each ($48)
Ouidad Climate Control Heat & Humidity Gel:  $22
theBalm cosmetics Mary-Lou Manizer:  $24
Vitivia Pro:Vitamins A15 and C10:  $55 each ($110)
LUNA Protein Bar Chocolate Peanut Butter:  $14.95 (for 12)

TOTAL:  $218.95

Since I paid $10 for the trial size box I saved $208.95 (if you figure I could have purchased these in their full-sized varieties). 

Lucy B Pink Frangipani & Wild Jasmine Roll-On Perfume Oils

Lucy B Cosmetics is the home of luxurious organic cosmetics that channel the healing resources from pure and magical Australian wild flowers.

I’ll be honest – I didn’t even give these guys a cursory whiff before sticking them in my perfume drawer.  Tisk tisk.  Bad blogger!

Ouidad Climate Control Heat & Humidity Gel

A “smart” gel, formulated with heat-activated wheat protein that breathes in humidity, protects the hair shaft and prevents hair from expanding. Its water-soluble formula of amino acids and vitamin A nourish and hydrate hair, leaving it soft, manageable and full of shine without any buildup. Even the most unruly curls are rendered calm, cool, and collected with style that will last and last. Also works as great protection against blow-dryer heat when a straight style is preferred.

It kinda makes me giggle that they sent out a heat and humidity gel right before winter rolls around.  Sort of strange timing if you ask me.  Then again, winters here in Houston can be on the rainy side and I will have to blow dry my hair every day to keep the chills at bay.  Who knows – maybe their timing was right on after all. 

theBalm cosmetics Mary-Lou Manizer

Meet Mary-Lou Manizer, a seeming innocent honey-hued luminizer that catches everybody’s eye.  This highlighter, shadow and shimmer diffuses light so your skin looks softer an younger while adding a subtle glow.  Layer it on your lids for luxe-looking lashes, sweep it on your cheeks for a sexy sheen, or use it as an all-over finishing touch before you head out for the night. 

I always put luminizer directly underneath my eyebrows.  Supposedly it helps the eyes to look more ‘open.’  I also put it on the inside corners of my eyes because that’s supposed to make your eyes appear further set (mine are really close together).  It’s nice to use a bit of luminizer on your face during the winter when so many people look washed out.  Just be careful that you don’t put it on too heavy.

Vitivia Pro:Vitamins A15 and C10

A15: contains pure Vitamin A (retinol) at 0.15%. A characteristic of sun-damaged skin is the degradation of the supporting structure of skin caused by reduced collagen synthesis. Vitamin A stimulates skin cell renewal by increasing the rate of mitotic cell division. Pro:Vitamin A refines pores, smoothes fine lines and reveals more youthful looking skin by assisting in the regeneration of healthy skin cells and maintaining the presence of collagen.

C10: contains pure Vitamin C (L-ascorbic acid) at 10%.  The skin, as the outermost barrier of the body, is continuously exposed to oxidative stress, in particular UV-radiation and environmental toxins such as smoke, air pollution, etc.  Pro:Vitamin C is known to neutralizes free radicals and effectively protect against environmental damage.

I honestly don’t know if I’ll ever put these babies on my face.  My face is uber-sensitive and I just don’t want to risk ticking it off.  I think that I’m going to put them on my hands instead. 

LUNA Protein Bar Chocolate Peanut Butter

Sweet satisfaction in a high protein bar created just for women. LUNA Protein lets us indulge while it helps us stick to our best intentions, with nutritious ingredients and the power of protein to keep us feeling full. Gluten Free – 12 g of protein, 3 g of fiber – High in Calcium and Folic Acid – Good Source of Iron and Vitamin D

I’m not much of a peanut butter person so I put this baby in my hubbys snack box.  I’m sure it’ll be devoured in no time. 

Have you tried any new products lately?

Leave a Reply

