Recipe Review: Chicken and Pepper Eggrolls

I have no earthly idea where I originally found this recipe.  However, I was able to locate it online again here.

Chicken and Pepper Eggrolls

Serves 6

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into thin strips
  • 2 large bell peppers (any color) cut into thin strips (I used red and green as per the picture)
  • 1 medium onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger
  • 12 egg roll wrappers
  • Oil for frying*

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat large pan over medium-high heat and add 2 Tablespoons oil.  Cook chicken strips just until no longer pink.  Push to one side of pan.
  2. Add pepper and onion and cook for 5 minutes, stirring often.
  3. Add soy sauce, garlic and ginger and stir well.  Cook until most liquid has evaporated.
  4. Remove from heat and cool for 15 minutes.  This is important!  Adding hot ingredients to the egg roll wrappers will cause them to break down and leak
  5. Once cooled, lay several strips of chicken, onion and peppers in the center of an egg roll wrapper that has been laid on a surface with one point toward you.  Fold the right point over and under the filling.  Fold the top and bottom points down and roll from right to left, securing the left point with a touch of water.
  6. Repeat with all wrappers and filling.  Heat ½ inch of oil in a skillet over medium heat.  Fry* egg rolls, turning over once during cooking, until golden brown.  Drain on paper towels.

* Alternately, these can be baked in the oven at 350 degrees F for 10-12 minutes or until browned.

THOUGHTS

Oooook – lots to say on this one!

  • First off – these were quite tasty.  My husband preferred them with a bit of extra soy sauce.  I did feel like they were missing something but couldn’t quite put my finger on what.  Perhaps a little spice?  I’m not really sure.  They’re definitely worth making again though!
  • My first attempt at using eggroll wrappers (documented here) went much smoother.  I think it’s because I didn’t cut my chicken into strips (it was more like chunks) and I just had a really hard time getting these suckers to roll right.  They ended up looking rather goofy.  The good news is – it doesn’t change the taste!
  • I definitely prefer using egg wash over water to help secure the eggrolls.  Basically you take 1 egg, crack it and stir it real good with a whisk.  Then use a basting brush to run the egg along the sides and the ‘tips.’  It sticks much better than when you use water!
  • Lastly – I fried these suckers in peanut oil.  I’ve heard that peanut oil is the best for frying but guess what?  I’ve never fried anything!  They turned out ok and were fairly crispy but still too oily for my taste.  I think next time I’ll try baking them instead!
  • It took more than 12 wrappers to roll all of the filling.  Luckily I had extra wrappers.  If you don’t though, just throw the extra filling on top of some cooked rice for lunch the next day.  Yum!

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Under the Table and Dreaming
I Heart Nap Time
Delightful Order
One Artsy Mama
This Gal Cooks
Uncommon Designs
Skip to my Lou
Chef in Training
Bloom Designs

Leave a Reply

