Recipe Review: Confetti Rice Pilaf

So I’m fairly certain I’ve admitted this before but I royally stink at cooking rice.  I can cook just about anything else but rice, for whatever reason, gives me a really hard time.  It’s either got too much water left over or there wasn’t enough water to begin with and it’s slightly undercooked.  It’s just not my gift.

That being said, I came across this recipe the other day and wanted to try it.  What can I say?  I’m a dare devil.

Confetti Rice Pilaf

Serves: 4

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil or butter (I used butter)
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 carrot, finely chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, finely chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed with press
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 cup long-grain white rice
  • 1 can (14 to 14.5 ounces) chicken broth
  • ¼ cup water
  • ¼ cup fresh parsley leaves, chopped

DIRECTIONS

  1. In 3-quart saucepan, heat olive oil on medium. Add onion, carrot, celery, garlic, 1/4 teaspoon each salt and coarsely ground black pepper; cook 6 to 8 minutes or until vegetables are tender, stirring occasionally. Add rice, stirring to coat; cook 1 minute.
  2. Add broth and water to pan; heat to boiling on high. Reduce heat to low; cover and simmer 16 to 18 minutes or until all liquid is absorbed and rice is tender. Remove from heat; let stand, covered, 5 minutes. Fluff rice with fork; stir in parsley to serve. Makes 3 1/2 cups.

THOUGHTS

  • I thought that this took too much time/effort considering the result.  Had I put my carrot, celery, and onion in a food processor instead of finely chopping by hand, I doubt I would have felt this way.
  • This dish was mediocre at best.  I’d say 4-5 out of 10.  It just didn’t have any ‘ooomph.’
  • I think if I made this again I would pair it with baked chicken smothered in cream of mushroom soup.
  • The dish was slightly watery but it’s entirely likely that this had everything to do with me and nothing to do with the recipe.

Do you have any secrets to cooking rice?

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Under the Table and Dreaming
I Heart Naptime
Uncommon Designs
Delightful Order
One Artsy Mama
This Gal Cooks
Skip to my Lou
Chef in Training
Bloom Designs

2 responses to “Recipe Review: Confetti Rice Pilaf

  1. My no fail rice recipe: 1 c rice to 2 c water (increase in same ration, so 1.5 c rice, would be 3 c water)

    Add water (or use chicken stock) to a medium sauce pan, turn heat to high. Measure out rice and pour into water. Add a tbsp of salted butter. If you don’t want the fat, leave out the butter and add a tsp of salt. Give everything a good stir. As soon as water has come to a rapid boil, cover a reduce heat to low. Let cook for 16 minutes. When timer goes off, uncover and fluff with fork.

Leave a Reply

