Recipe Review: Autumn Harvest Minestrone

I know I’ve mentioned this previously… but I love soup.  Like a lot.  I even love it enough to eat it in the middle of the 100+ degree Houston summer. 

Because I’m a crazy person. 

Who loves soup. 

Anywho – the one thing I don’t particularly love is canned soup.  It’s usually very salty and well, just not as good as homemade.  Because I don’t have the time to cook fresh soup on a regular basis I usually set aside one weekend every couple of months to stock my freezer with delicious homemade soups.  I did this over Thanksgiving weekend and I made four separate soups that I’m going to share with you over the next few days. 

Enjoy!

(note:  I found this recipe here)

autumn harvest minestrone

Autumn Harvest Minestrone

Serves:  6

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cans (15 oz each) cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 cans (14-1/2 oz each) fat free, reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 3 cups (1/2” chunks) butternut squash (approx 1 lb)
  • 1 can (14-1/2 oz) diced tomatoes
  • 2 medium turnips, peeled and cut into ½” chunks
  • 1 medium parsnip, peeled, quartered, and sliced 1/4” thick
  • 2 cups bagged coleslaw mix
  • 1 large leek (white and light green parts only) sliced
  • 1 Tablespoon minced garlic
  • 1 cup (packed) fresh basil
  • 1/3 cup fresh parsley
  • ¼ cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 3 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp black pepper
  • 2 Tablespoons water

DIRECTIONS

  1. 1. In 4 quart or larger slow cooker mix beans, broth, squash, tomatoes (with juice), turnips, parsnip, coleslaw, leek, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of the garlic. Cover and cook on low 7 to 9 hours or until vegetables are tender.
  2. In blender, mix basil, parsley, cheese, oil, salt, pepper, water, and remaining 1 ½ teaspoons garlic until smooth. Scrape into small bowl and refrigerate.
  3. To serve, ladle soup into serving bowls and top with a heaping tablespoon of basil sauce.

THOUGHTS

I was a bit skeptical about this soup because I am definitely not a fan of butternut squash.  Call me crazy, but I just don’t think my vegetables should taste sweet.  I don’t like sweet potatoes for the same reason.  That being said, I have made a minestrone soup before that had a little bit of butternut squash and the soup turned out quite tasty.  So, I thought that this soup might be worth a try.  Sadly, this soup is heavy on the butternut squash and it made the entire soup sweet.  When I asked my husband to try a bite he said ‘this is horrible!’  He shares my aversion to sweet vegetables.  Unfortunately, this entire (giant!) crockpot full of soup went down the drain.  😦  Perhaps, if you’re a big fan of butternut squash, you might really like this soup.  However, if you have a dislike for sweet veggies like we do in our family then this soup is not for you. 

If you are a fan of butternut squash I’d love for you to make this soup and tell me what YOU thought.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

bloom

hhpweekendlinkparty22

One Artsy Mama

UndertheTableandDreaming

cit

Leave a Reply

