Recipe Review: Lentil Vegetable Soup

Prior to cooking this soup I’d never eaten lentils.  Since I’m a rather picky eater I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t a tad bit nervous about making this soup but it turned out wonderful.  I’m happily eating this soup at lunch every other day of the week (alternating with the soup I’ll be sharing with you tomorrow).  This is, yet again, another Taste of Home recipe

lentil vegetable soup

Lentil Vegetable Soup

Serves: 6

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cans (14-1/2 ounces each) vegetable broth
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup dried lentils, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup uncooked long grain brown rice
  • 1/2 cup tomato juice
  • 1 can (5-1/2 ounces) spicy hot V8 juice
  • 1 tablespoon reduced-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 medium potato, peeled and cubed
  • 1 medium tomato, cubed
  • 1 medium carrot, sliced
  • 1 celery rib, sliced

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large saucepan, combine the first eight ingredients. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 30 minutes.
  2. Add the potato, tomato, carrot and celery; cover and simmer 30 minutes longer or until rice and vegetables are tender.

THOUGHTS

  • Just like the Easy Hamburger Soup I told you about on Friday I placed my potato, tomato, carrot, and celery in my food processor and used that to cut down on my chopping time. 
  • I’ve made this dish as directed using the ½ cup tomato juice + 5-1/2 ounces spicy V8 and I’ve also made it just using the same quantities, but all spicy V8.  I honestly couldn’t tell a difference.  If you don’t keep plain tomato juice on hand and don’t want to buy it, just use the spicy V8. 
  • This dish is filling and makes a great healthy lunch. 

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

hhpweekendlinkparty22

bloom

One Artsy Mama

logo_Sundae2

UndertheTableandDreaming

Skip To My Lou

cit

Leave a Reply

