Recipe Review: Vegetarian White Bean Soup

As I mentioned yesterday I’ve been eating this soup practically every other day and I’m gotta tell you… I’m hooked.  I love a good brothy soup and this soup is just mmm mmm good.  It’s ANOTHER Taste of Home recipe (you’d think I’m a rep for them or something with the consistency in which I review their recipes but I’m not… although that’d be cool). 

vegetarian white bean soup

Vegetarian White Bean Soup

Serves:  7

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 small zucchini, quartered lengthwise and sliced
  • 1 cup each chopped onion, celery and carrot
  • 2 tablespoons canola oil
  • 3 cans (14-1/2 ounces each) vegetable broth
  • 1 can (15-1/2 ounces) great northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can (15 ounces) white kidney or cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 can (14-1/2 ounces) diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper

DIRECTIONS

In a large saucepan, sauté the zucchini, onion, celery and carrot in oil for 5-7 minutes or until crisp-tender. Add the remaining ingredients. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 15 minutes or until vegetables are tender. 

THOUGHTS

  • Top this with a little mozzarella cheese and you have a match made in heaven.
  • I know some people don’t like tomatoes and if you’re one of ‘em, you should still like this soup.  The flavor of the tomatoes practically disappears. 
  • This is a great vegetarian dish if you’re a fan of Meatless Mondays!

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

hhpweekendlinkparty22

bloom

One Artsy Mama

logo_Sundae2

 
UndertheTableandDreaming

Skip To My Lou

Chef in Training

Leave a Reply

