One reason I love snail mail (part 7)…

So I know we’re well into December at this point but I’m finally getting around to telling you about what I got in my November BirchBox goodie box. 

Here’s the rundown of what was in my box (prices are for full-size product):

Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme Cologne Absolue:  $195
Lulu Organics Lavender + Clary Sage Hair Powder:  $30
Miracle Skin Transformer Vanish Instant Imperfection Corrector:  $58
ModelCo Fibre Lashxtend Lenghtening Mascara:  $24
Chuao Chocolatier 7pc Assorted ChocoPod Box (I got the potato chip):  $7.95

TOTAL:  $314.95

Since I paid $10 for the trial size box I saved $304.95 (if you figure I could have purchased these in their full-sized varieties).

 

Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme Cologne Absolue

Atelier Cologne Rose Anonyme Cologne Absolue

Rose Anonyme, a breathtaking seductress caught in a stolen affair between light and dark, Turkish Rose Absolute sparkles and intrigues beneath notes of spicy Ginger, enwrapped in sultry veil of Velvet Oud, Indonesian Patchouli, mystic Papyrus and Somalian Incense.

I happen to like the scent of rose so I was really hoping that I’d love this perfume.  It’s a bit granny-ish for me and I feel like it’s something I would have found when I was a child digging around in my grandma’s drawers.  I might keep this one for days when I want to just run errands or work around the house though.  It smells better than sweat!

 

Lulu Organics Lavender + Clary Sage Hair Powder

Lulu Organics Lavender + Clary Sage Hair Powder

An all organic, TALC-FREE hair powder for hair on days of unwash. Inspired from our college days, this silky powder is perfect for on-the-go styling and leaves your hair smelling as fresh as a day one wash. Sprinkle a dime size amount of powder into your hands and rub through the roots of your dry hair.

I haven’t tried this yet but I’m super excited about this product.  I’ve been wanting to have a dry shampoo product on hand for those days when I need to just get up and go and don’t have time to shower.  I’ll definitely be keeping this one in my bathroom drawer. 

 

Miracle Skin Transformer Vanish Instant Imperfection Corrector

Miracle Skin Transformer Vanish Instant Imperfection Corrector

This concentrated skin treatment addresses fine lines, wrinkles, sun damage, environmental stresses, dark spots, and dullness. Delivering a mix of imperfection blurring optical diffusers and powerful active ingredients, this silky-smooth texture virtually becomes one with your skin. Targeted powerful antioxidant vitamins C and ergothioneine are delivered deep into the skin where they are most effective while skin-correcting ingredients diminish the appearance of dark spots and age spots. It improves the skin’s collagen content, decreases UV-induced pigmentation, and smooths surface texture without irritation. Acting as a disappearing act for imperfections, skin texture becomes refined and a new level of skin clarity is revealed.

With my sensitive skin I’m always skeptical of products like this.  It’s highly likely that it’ll be too harsh for my skin and will end up causing more problems than it solves.  Nonetheless, the next time I get a break out, I’m going to give this baby a whirl (ok ok, so perhaps I’m going to test it out on my husband instead). 

 

ModelCo Fibre Lashxtend Lenghtening Mascara

ModelCo Fibre Lashxtend Lenghtening Mascara

ModelCo’s innovative formula is made with tiny fibers that attach to your lashes to elongate and thicken them. You’ll be shocked at how much richness and length you can get with a single coat— apply two for serious drama. Plus, each tube features a handy built-in mirror for easy on-the-go application.

So I’ve been on the hunt for a good ‘fake falsies’ mascara for a while now.  I have very blond and short eyelashes and I never feel like I get the kind of look I want from other mascaras.  I’m definitely looking forward to trying this mascara and finding out if it’s the secret!

 

Chuao Chocolatier ChocoPod Potato Chip

Chuao Chocolatier 7pc Assorted ChocoPod

Don’t knock these unusual flavor combinations until you’ve tried them. This 7-piece set includes: Potato Chip (kettle chips and sea salt in milk chocolate), Sweet and Salty (milk chocolate with a hint of salt), Maple Bacon (crisp bacon with a dose of maple sweetness and smoked sea salt in milk chocolate), Honeycomb (amber honey caramelized into crispy pieces in dark chocolate), Salted Chocolate Crunch (toasted breadcrumbs with sea salt in dark chocolate), Spicy Maya (a spicy blend of pasilla chile, cinnamon, and cayenne in dark chocolate), and Firecracker (chipotle caramel fudge dotted with popping candy and salt in dark chocolate).

So I’m not gonna lie, I think these flavor combinations are WEIRD.  I haven’t worked up the courage to try my chocolate covered potato chip yet.  Chocolate and potatoes???  It just sounds weird in my head.  I did make potato chip butterscotch cookies years ago and I remember people telling me they were really good so who knows.  Perhaps this could be a baking breakthrough. 

Have you tried any new products lately?

Leave a Reply

