2013

resolutions

2013 is upon us and I’ve been thinking a lot recently about what I want next year to bring.  I’m not usually one who makes new years resolutions because let’s face it, about 99% of us give up on those by March, if not before then.  Instead, I try to realign my life in such a way that allows me to accomplish the things that I want.  What does this mean?  It means setting parameters or making a schedule way in advance.  In this case, there are two things that I’m focusing on for 2013:  my budget and my ‘me’ time.  I’d love to say that it’s my goal to get in shape, but that’s not the case.  I mean, that is a goal of mine, but it’s not my primary focus for the moment.  I’ll get into more detail about that later in another post. 

BUDGET

My husband and I have had a budget for several years now and we know where every penny is going to go.  We plan in advance for things like vet bills, vehicle maintenance, vacation and just about every other thing we could think of.  In fact, we have a specific amount of money set aside for all of these categories:

Gas for my car
Gas for husband’s car
Spending money for me (aka ‘allowance’)
Spending money for the husband (aka ‘allowance’)
AAA
Vehicle maintenance
Car insurance
Cell phone
Maid / cleaning lady
Emergency fund
EZ tag (for the toll road)
Groceries
Life insurance
Medical care (regular check-ups / emergency trips / prescriptions / contacts / etc)
Health insurance (I’m a contractor so I pay for this on my own not through my employer)
My ‘primping’ such as hair cuts / perm / pedicure / etc
Husbands ‘primping’ such as hair cuts / manicure / etc
Dog expenditures (food / vet bills / heartworm preventative / flea & tick preventative / etc)
Rent
Savings
Husbands work clothes (he is rough on them so we have to replace them often)
Husbands work tools (he frequently needs new blades for the saw or a tool breaks or whatever)
Yearly tax payment (for our accountant)
Credit card payment (the only debt we currently have except the husbands truck)
Truck payment
Monthly date night
Birthday / Christmas gifts
Netflix
Vacations

Whew – long list!  But, we wanted to make sure that we accounted for everything we could think of.  Can you think of something we missed? 

The thing I want to get better at this year is sticking to this budget.  For example, sometimes the grocery bill will come to $222 instead of the $200 we have budgeted at the time.  Well, that extra $22 has to come from SOMEWHERE.  I want to get to the point where I’m living on exactly what I have to spend, and nothing more.  No more borrowing from Peter to pay Paul. 

ME TIME

Remember when I mentioned way back over here all of the crafty things I wanted to take the time to make?  Well, that was in May 2012 and so far, I’ve only managed to make one of them and that was in July of 2012.  Needless to say, I haven’t managed to balance my time better. 

So, this year, my goal is to manage my time and to prepare in advance so that I can get some of these crafty things done.  I’d love to shoot for one a week, but let’s be real here.  For starters, that wouldn’t fit into my budget goal above since the money for these things is going to come from my spending money.  Second, I’m smart enough to know that one a week would totally overwhelm me in no time.  So, my goal is going to be one a month.  I think that’s totally realistic.  Do you?  I’ve gotta tell ya, I’m excited to get started.  Also, since we combined my office and my craft room into one tiny room I could definitely use the space that I’ll get back once I use up some of the materials I bought for projects that I haven’t made yet.  It’s gonna be fun. 

What are your goals (we’re not going to call them resolutions) for 2013?

Leave a Reply

