Recipe Review: Spicy Asian Lettuce Wraps

I found this recipe via Cooking Light.  You can view it here.  I made this for lunch the other day and it was scrumptious and easy. 

Spicy Asian Lettuce Wraps

Spicy Asian Lettuce Wraps

Serves: 4

INGREDIENTS

  • 2-1/2 ounces bean threads (cellophane noodles)
  • ¼ cup minced fresh cilantro
  • ¼ cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 Tablespoon chile paste with garlic
  • 2 teaspoons dark sesame oil
  • 2 cups chopped roasted boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 12 large Boston or romaine lettuce leaves

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cover bean threads with boiling water. Let stand for 5 minutes or until softened. Drain, and rinse under cool water. Chop noodles.
  2. While bean threads soak, combine cilantro, soy sauce, chile paste, and oil in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Add noodles and chicken to soy sauce mixture; toss well to coat. Spoon about 1/3 cup chicken mixture down center of each lettuce leaf; roll up.

THOUGHTS

  • I didn’t know what the heck bean threads were and I had mung bean sprouts (those white, crunchy sprouts that are next to alfalfa spouts) on hand so I used those instead.  Bean threads are actually made from mung bean starch… so it’s kinda the same thing. This allowed me to skip step 1.
    mung bean sprouts

    mung bean sprouts

    bean threads / cellophane noodles

    bean threads / cellophane noodles

  • I also didn’t have cooked chicken on hand so I went ahead and cooked my chicken with the mixture of cilantro, soy sauce, chile paste, and sesame oil until no longer pink.  Then I added the mung bean sprouts and let that heat for about 5 minutes.  All in all, it took about 15 minutes.  If you had roasted chicken on hand, you could assemble this dish in about 5 minutes. 
  • Personally I didn’t feel like this made enough for 4 people for a ‘main dish.’  It would feed 2, however.  I split the dish in half and packaged it separately from my lettuce and brought both to work with me.  I tore my lettuce up, warmed my chicken mixture and ate this dish like a salad.  Delish!
  • These were definitely not spicy in my opinion.  If you think you’d prefer them spicy, I’d add a touch of red pepper flakes. 

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

bloom

hhpweekendlinkparty22

One Artsy Mama

UndertheTableandDreaming

I Heart Nap Time
 
cit
2 responses to “Recipe Review: Spicy Asian Lettuce Wraps

  1. My hubby and I would love these! Lettuce wraps are always delicious, and a bit more healthy, too!! 🙂
    Blessings,
    Leslie

Leave a Reply

