Foods You Should Eat Every Day…

So it’s the beginning of a new year and although I said over here that losing weight wasn’t something I was actively focusing on this year, I sort of lied.  Well, I didn’t really lie.  I mean, it’s not something that I’m actively focusing on.  I want to lose weight, but I’m taking it suuuuuper slow.  That being said, it can’t hurt to get into some good eating habits right?

oranges

I’ve mentioned before that I’m a picky eater and on top of that, I’m not much of a meat eater.  I love my veggies though (thanks mom!).  Still, I feel like I’m not getting the nutrition that I really should be.

Oats

I remember reading an article years ago having to do with the foods that you should eat every day.  I can’t remember off hand what the complete list was but I went ahead and Googled ‘foods you should eat every day.’  I’m sure you can imagine, there were a zillion results to this search.  Naturally, not every source is going to agree on what these foods should be.  Here are the answers from some of the top search results.

beans

Foods you should eat every day:

This article says berries, eggs, beans, nuts, oranges, sweet potatoes, broccoli, tea, spinach, and yogurt.

This article says oats, berries, nuts, milk, sweet potatoes, apples, spinach or kale, dark chocolate, edamame, green tea, garlic and onions, and yogurt.

This article says spinach, eggs, blueberries, apples, and winter squash.

This article and this article say spinach, yogurt, tomatoes, carrots, blueberries, black beans, walnuts and oats.

This article says yogurt, red tomatoes, walnuts, spinach, oats, carrots, and blueberries.

This article says blueberries, garlic, olive oil, broccoli, yogurt, oats, flaxseeds, cinnamon, tea, and beans.

This article says nuts, eggs, spinach, quinoa, cruciferous vegetables (such as broccoli and cauliflower), salmon, beans, tomatoes, sweet potatoes, and blueberries.

blueberries

As you can see, several goods make all or most of these lists.  In all, here are all the foods that are listed:

apples
beans (esp black beans)
berries
blueberries
broccoli
carrots
cinnamon
dark chocolate
edamame
eggs
flaxseeds
garlic
green tea
milk
nuts
oats
olive oil
onions
oranges
quinoa
salmon
spinach or kale
sweet potatoes
tea
tomatoes
walnuts
winter squash
yogurt

broccoli & sweet potato

Let’s face it – that’s a lot of food to eat every day.  However, I’d be SUPER skinny and my insides would be healthy and I probably would never get sick due to the amount of antioxidants.  Yippee!

nuts

So, here’s the million dollar question… how in Hades am I supposed to incorporate all or most of those items EVERY day?

Here’s what I’ve come up with…

BREAKFAST:
Smoothie with 1c frozen blueberries, 1 T milled flax seeds, half of a banana and 1 carton of greek yogurt.
or
Eggs (most likely some form of quiche since that’s the only way I’ll ever really eat eggs)

SNACK 1:
Apple
Green tea
Carrots
Handful of nuts

LUNCH:
Sweet potatoes sautéed in olive oil with garlic and onions
Salmon croquette
Spinach salad w/ tomatoes, bell peppers, and mushrooms

SNACK 2:
Orange
Edamame
Green tea
Nature valley oat bar

DINNER:
Some form of protein with a side that contains either black beans, broccoli, winter squash or quinoa
Large glass milk

DESSERT:
Cinnamon dark hot chocolate

I’m sure this seems like an inordinately large amount of food to you.  It does to me too.  In fact, I’m reading that thinking CRAP! that’s a lot of food!  That being said, a lot of these things don’t have what I’d call ‘sticking power.’  Let’s face it… spinach isn’t going to keep me full for long ya know?

So, how am I going to incorporate all this into my life you ask?  Well, for starters I’m going to eat this exact menu for a week and I’m going to blog about it for a week and let you know how it’s going.  Estimated start date?  January 21st.  I’ll follow this program from Monday, January 21st through Sunday, January 27th.

Let’s do this thing!

note:  Remember, today is the 14th so it’s your day to practice a Random Act of Kindness in honor of Sandy Hook Elementary.  I’d love to hear what you do!  Please feel free to leave comments!  I will be posting my RAOK on the 16th.  See you then!

raok sandy hook

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Alderberry Hill
Beyond the Picket Fence
Bloom
Chef in Training
Chic on a Shoestring
Classy Clutter
Craftionary
Crafty Confessions
Delightful Order
DIY Home Sweet Home
DIY Showoff
Fireflies and Jellybeans
Ginger Snap Crafts
Handy Man, Crafty Woman
Happy Hour Projects
Home Stories A to Z
Homemaker on a Dime
Homework
House of Hepworths
I Gotta Create
I Heart Naptime
It’s Overflowing
Ivy and Elephants
JAQS Studio
Lil Luna
Live.Laugh.Rowe
Kammy’s Korner
Made In a Day
Making the World Cuter
Mod Vintage Life
My Girlish Whims
Not Just a Housewife
One Artsy Mama
Primp
Skip to My Lou
Uncommon Designs
Under the Table and Dreaming

12 responses to “Foods You Should Eat Every Day…

  1. Pingback: Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 1 « changingmymarbles

  2. Pingback: Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 2 « changingmymarbles

  3. Pingback: Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 3 « changingmymarbles

  4. Pingback: We Interrupt Our Regularly Scheduled Programming…. « changingmymarbles

  5. Pingback: Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 4 « changingmymarbles

  6. Pingback: Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 5 « changingmymarbles

  7. Pingback: Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 6 « changingmymarbles

  8. Pingback: Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 7 « changingmymarbles

  9. Pingback: Recipe Review: Easy Bake Strata « changingmymarbles

  10. Pingback: Recipe Review: Fresh Caprese Quinoa Salad « changingmymarbles

  11. Pingback: Recipe Review: Salmon Croquettes « changingmymarbles

  12. Pingback: Recipe Review: Crustless Broccoli and Cheese Quiche | changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

