Our First Visit to Trader Joe’s

Have you guys ever been to Trader Joe’s?  I’d never even heard of Trader Joe’s until I started blogging and reading other peoples blogs.  If you haven’t heard of it, let me clue you in… it’s sort of like Whole Foods, but a lot less expensive.  It also has a smaller selection of fresh items than Whole Foods. 

A few months ago they opened a Trader Joe’s in Houston (where I live).  The other day the hubs and I decided to go check it out and see what all the fuss was about. 

Verdict?  We’ll be back.  Soon.

I’m not sure if I can remember everything we purchased but here’s what I do remember: 

Fresh, organic microgreens

trader joe's organic micro greens

These have held up great.  They lasted several days past their expiration date.  I’ve never seen microgreens at Kroger (where I normally shop) or even at Whole Foods on the times that I’ve been there.  Very cool and ridiculously healthy. 

Fresh pomegranate seeds

trader joe's Fresh Pomegranate Seeds

These lasted a day before I ate them all.  Yum.  And way cheaper than other places.

Fresh tomato medley

trader joes Organic Mixed Medley Cherry Tomatoes

These tomatoes are soooo good.  Seriously people, we’ve been popping them like candy at our house.  Delish!

Chicken pot pie (one of hubbies favorites)

trader joesFresh Chicken Pot Pie

When I asked the Hubs how this potpie compared to the brand we usually buy his response was ‘that’s not a fair comparison – that’s like comparing a Lean Cuisine to a freshly made meal.’  The next time we go back I have the distinct feeling we’ll be stocking up on these babies. 

Pomegranate green tea

trader joe's pomegranate green tea

Personally I wasn’t a huge fan of this but I’m not a huge fan of green tea in general.  It’s definitely not very sweet.  If those to things sound like a match made in heaven to you then go pick some up today!

Tomato Pesto Flatbread

trader joe's pesto and tomato pizza

OMG.  This might be the best pizza I’ve ever had.  Like ever.  All we did was add a little extra mozzarella cheese to this before popping it in the oven and holy cow!  We will absolutely buy this again.  Pair this baby with a salad and you’ve got a nice dinner for two.  Yum!

Mini Mint Ice Cream Mouthfuls

trader joe's mint choclate ice cream sandwich

These little mouthfuls are so much fun and absolutely delicious.  They’re the perfect size to curb my ice cream craving and at 120 calories for TWO, they’re definitely a healthy alternative to Blue Bell. 

Cinnamon and sugar grinder

trader joes Cinnamon and sugar grinder

I’m really not sure why I purchased this since we don’t eat anything with cinnamon and sugar but I just couldn’t resist.  It was just SO CUTE!  Who knows, it might end up in someone’s Christmas stocking next year.

Toasted Sesame Oil

trader joes Toasted Sesame Oil

Haven’t had a chance to use this yet but I have several recipes that call for toasted sesame oil (as opposed to just sesame oil which I already have on hand) so I thought I’d pick some up so that I have it when I need it.

Coconut Oil

trader joes Organic Virgin Coconut Oil

I actually know absolutely nothing about this whole coconut oil trend except that it’s supposedly healthy for you and the oil is better for things that you cook at a high heat than other oils such as olive oil.  I haven’t had a chance to try this yet and I definitely want to do some research before I do but I’m excited to give it a whirl. 

All in all I was absolutely thrilled with our visit and I can’t wait to go back.  They’re building a second Trader Joe’s in Houston that will be closer to my house so I’m super excited about that. 

Have you been to Trader Joe’s?  Did you love it/hate it?  Any recommendations on products to try?

One response to “Our First Visit to Trader Joe’s

  1. Pingback: Recipe Review: P.F. Chang’s Dumpling Dipping Sauce | changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

