Thrift Store Marathon – What I Found and Where To Go!

Hi friends!

As some of you know, I’m a big fan of garage sales and thrift stores.  1, amazing deals (most of the time at least) 2, it’s fun to see the stuff that other people have at some point owned and then given up and 3, I love finding a diamond in the rough.  In addition to all that, my friend G is OBSESSED with garage sale/thrift stores and I think she’d drag me along with her every weekend if I’d let her.  Unfortunately, I’m too poor for that.  I did text my husband at one point during this last trip and say ‘we need to be rich so I can buy other peoples stuff’!!  I will say this – for the FIRST TIME EVER I went thrifting with a BUDGET and STUCK TO IT!  Whoo hoo!  Granted, I could have spent a ton more money if I’d let myself.  🙂

First off, I think I should start with giving you the names and addresses of some of the places we went (all of these are in Houston)…

GoodwillRiver Oaks
2030 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX77098-1507US 

Charity Guild of Catholic Women
1233 Lovett Blvd, Houston, TX77006-3857US 

Women’s Home
811 Westheimer Rd, Houston, TX77006-3917US

Blue Bird Circle
615 W Alabama St, Houston, TX77006-5003US 

Houston Re-market
2850 Fannin St, Houston, TX77002-9220US 

Houston Junior League
1815 Rutland St, Houston, TX77008-4013US 

Assistance League
1902 Commonwealth St, Houston, TX77006-1836US 

Now, I thought I’d show you some of the treasures I came home with…

butter dish-edited

Anyone know what these are?  10 points if you get it right!

Anyone?

Anyone?

They’re individual butter dishes!  Aren’t the ADORABLE???  I’m dying to get started on remodeling our dining room so that I have an excuse to host a dinner party and can whip out these babies.  I’m in love!

craft projects-edited

I purchase every Scrabble game I come across because I have lots and lots of craft projects in mind for the tiles as well as for the ‘seats’ that you put the tiles in when you actually play the game. 

I was also thrilled to come across this huge bag of wine corks.  They’re the real thing, not those horrible rubber synthetic jobbies that are in wine bottles now days.  I have been eyeing a project for our wetbar area for a while now and kept wondering how I was ever going to get enough corks for it since we’re not big drinkers.  Problem solved!

drink cart-edited

I found this baby at the first store we went to and just had to pick her up.  She needs a bit of a paint job and some minor repairs.  For starters, the casters have to be replaced.  In addition, one of the handles is missing (did you notice that?  I totally didn’t until much later).  I have zero intention of trying to replace the handle – for one, it’d be nearly impossible and for two, I don’t think it needs a second handle.  Instead, we plan to just plug the holes where the handle goes and paint it.  I doubt anyone will ever know (except you guys, because you’re reading about it here). 

misc containers-edited

So my husband has a thing for perfume bottles (he’s straight, I swear).  He thinks they’re beautiful.  I’m not a big fan myself but when I saw this one I was intrigued because of the very masculine ‘stopper.’  Usually they’re very flowery.  So, in my cart it went.  Hubby was pleased. 

I have no clue what I’m going to do with this teeny tiny watering pot but I have some other stoneware (I think that’s what it’s called?) that was my moms and it sort of looks like it belongs in the collection.  It’d be cute as a flower pot on my kitchen window sill.  We’ll see. 

And then there’s this knobby green glass votive holder.  There were two… but sadly, one met a tragic end when it was rudely introduced to my tile floor while I was unpacking from the day.  *sniff*  RIP little guy. 

turtles-edited

You guys know my husband has a thing for turtles right?  If not, you can read this post here.  

Well a while back I found this lovely piece at Steinmart.  That’s right kids, it’s a turtle footstool. 

fred 1-edit   fred 2-edit

As you can see from his seriously happy face, my husband LOVES this guy.  His name is Fred. 

 Well, we needed somebody to keep Fred company so I brought home these babies.

The larger one at the top is actually a light.  We’ll probably use it as a very manly night light in hubby’s office once we finally get around to putting that space together.  Oh, and you want to know the first thing Hubs said when I showed him this lamp?  He said ‘what are we gonna name him?’  We’re dorks.  But, we’re also dorks who are totally stuck on naming him!  Any ideas?

 As for the two little turtles in front they’re both made out of some sort of stone.  The one on the right is just a sculpture but the one on the left has a removable ‘shell’ on top.  It’s just big enough for hubby’s wedding ring.  Cute huh?

wingback-edited

Lastly, but certainly not least… we found a wingback chair for my hunny.  He’s been dying for one since my mom moved out and took hers with her.  We’d been looking at this one from Pottery Barn for the living room but what he really wanted was a ‘reading chair’ so that he could read in his office.  The one from PB is nearly $1000.  This baby was a lot cheaper AND the upholstery is brand new.  I realize the color scheme is a little ‘welcome to the 70s’ but Hubs is going for a very old world/English pub/nautical theme in his office and this chair will go just perfectly.  He’s thrilled.  And Fred will have a place to live permanently (he’s currently in the living room, but he’ll go in the office with this chair). 

What good thrift store/garage sale finds have you brought home lately?

One response to “Thrift Store Marathon – What I Found and Where To Go!

  1. Pingback: Window Shopping Wednesday « changingmymarbles

Leave a Reply

