Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 1

I’m suspending this weeks Window Shopping Wednesday so that I can share with you the start of my Foods You Should Eat Every Day Challenge.  Let’s get started!

If you didn’t catch my initial post with the list of the foods you should eat every day you can click here.

Almost right off the bat it became clear that the meal plan I’d worked up (as per my original post) was going to be waaaaay more food than I could possibly eat.  So, I cut out a snack group.  Instead, I’m going to eat Snack 1 on one day, and then Snack 2 the following day.  In addition, my portion sizes are pretty darn small!

Below is my original meal plan.  I’ve scratched through some things so that I can show you what I didn’t eat on Monday.

Day 1 Meal Plan:

BREAKFAST:
Smoothie with 1c frozen blueberries, 1 T milled flax seeds, half of a banana and 1 carton of greek yogurt.
or
Eggs (most likely some form of quiche since that’s the only way I’ll ever really eat eggs)

SNACK 1:
Apple (one very small jazz apple)
Green tea
Carrots (about 10 baby carrots)
Handful of nuts (about ¼ cup)

LUNCH:
Sweet potatoes sautéed in olive oil with garlic and onions (recipe to come)
Salmon croquette (recipe to come)
Spinach salad w/ tomatoes, bell peppers, and mushrooms (I added a few green and black olives as well as some parmesan Italian dressing)

my spinach salad - don't you just love my 'welcome to the 70s' tv tray?  lol

my spinach salad – don’t you just love my ‘welcome to the 70s’ tv tray? lol

SNACK 2:
Orange
Edamame
Green tea
Nature valley oat bar

DINNER:
Oven baked fish filets (not homemade)
Gluten-Free Cheesy Veggie Pasta Bake (recipe to come)
Large glass milk

DESSERT:
Cinnamon dark hot chocolate

All in all, I was very satisfied all day.  I did find myself craving some chocolate but by the time dessert came around I just wasn’t hungry.  We did end up eating kind of a late dinner so we’ll see if the same thing happens tonight.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Alderberry Hill
Beyond the Picket Fence
Bloom
Chef in Training
Chic on a Shoestring
Classy Clutter
Craftionary
Crafty Confessions
DIY Home Sweet Home
DIY Showoff
Ginger Snap Crafts
Handy Man, Crafty Woman
Happy Hour Projects
Home Stories A to Z
Homemaker on a Dime
Homework
House of Hepworths
I Gotta Create
I Heart Naptime
It’s Overflowing
JAQS Studio
Kammy’s Korner
Lil Luna
Live.Laugh.Rowe
Made in a Day
Mod Vintage Life
My Girlish Whims
Not Just a Housewife
One Artsy Mama
Primp
Skip to My Lou
Uncommon Designs
Under the Table and Dreaming

2 responses to “Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 1

  1. Pingback: Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 2 « changingmymarbles

  2. I love so many of these foods, but need to be better about eating them every day.

Leave a Reply

