Recipe Review: Glenda’s Savory Sweet Potatoes

I have a friend who I love dearly who is one of those crazy fitness Crossfit-obsessed people.  I think she’s nuts.  But I love her.  And she’s gorgeous.  As you can imagine, she’s quite the health nut too.  So, the other night when she had me over for dinner we had a very healthy dinner of broiled tilapia, spinach salad, and savory sweet potatoes.

I should mention here that until this night, I’d never met a sweet potato that I liked.  They’re sweet people.  I’m sorry but I just don’t think vegetables should be mixed with sugar or marshmallows.  Blech!

This recipe is a recipe for people who don’t like their sweet potatoes, well, sweet.

sweet potatoes-edited

Glenda’s Savory Sweet Potatoes

Serves: 6-8

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 white or yellow onions
  • 3 large sweet potatoes
  • 4 whole heads of garlic (or you can cheat, like I did, and buy a large container of the pre-peeled garlic cloves)
  • Olive oil (about ¼ cup)
  • Italian seasioning, to taste
  • Salt, to taste
  • Pepper, to taste

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cut up the sweet potatoes and the onions into small bite-size pieces (mine were about the size of a nickel).  You can choose to leave the skin on the potatoes for extra health benefits as well.  If you chose to buy whole garlic heads, you’re going to want to peel all 4 heads right now.  I cut any big cloves in half.
  2. Put your chopped onions, potatoes, and peeled garlic in a large bowl and then drizzle with olive oil, salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning to taste.  I used more spices than I thought it really needed, and it honestly could have used a little bit more of everything.  Be liberal.
  3. Place on a large cookie sheet (I had to do mine in two batches) and bake at 350 degrees for at least 30 minutes, mixing every 10-15 minutes.

THOUGHTS

  • I still don’t love sweet potatoes.  They’re definitely not my go-to vegetable.  That being said, the health benefits are astounding so if I have to eat them, this is the way to eat ‘em!  By and large the tastiest sweet potatoes I’ve had so far.
  • When Glenda made them for me she left the skin on, I chose to take it off when I cooked them for myself.  I prefer it with the skin on.
  • I realize that 4 heads of garlic seems like a lot, but it’s not once you see how much veggies you’re going to end up with.  Just trust me.

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Five Days Five Ways

Leave a Reply

