Foods You Should Eat Everyday Challenge – Day 5

If you didn’t catch my initial post with the list of the foods you should eat every day you can click here

For the first time in a long time I’ve found myself craving fruit.  I’m not really much of a sweets person unless it’s ice cream.  If you gave me a choice between a salad or a brownie, I’d choose the salad 9.9 times out of 10.  Sweets just aren’t my thing.  So, I don’t eat much fruit.  However, being on this challenge and eating either an orange or an apple every day, I find that I’m enjoying them more than I thought I would.  It’s not that I don’t like fruit, I’d just rather have carrot sticks. 

I’m still finding out that my original meal plan was just waaaay too much food.  As you’ll see below, there’s a lot that’s not getting eaten every day. 

broccoli

Below is my original meal plan.  I’ve scratched through some things so that I can show you what I didn’t eat on day 5.

Day 5 Meal Plan:

BREAKFAST:
Smoothie with 1c frozen blueberries, 1 T milled flax seeds, half of a banana and 1 carton of greek yogurt.
or

Eggs: Easy Bake Strata (recipe to come) (note: quiche/strata is about the only way I’ll eat eggs)

SNACK 1:
Apple (one very small jazz apple)
Green tea
Carrots (about 10 baby carrots)
Handful of nuts (about ¼ cup)

LUNCH:
Sweet potatoes sautéed in olive oil with garlic and onions (recipe to come)
Salmon croquette (recipe to come)
Spinach salad w/ tomatoes, bell peppers, and mushrooms (I added a few green and black olives as well as some parmesan Italian dressing)

SNACK 2:
Orange
Edamame
Green tea
Nature valley oat bar

DINNER:
Creamy Chicken and Pasta Bake (recipe to come)
Large glass milk

DESSERT:
Cinnamon dark hot chocolate

Leave a Reply

