Recipe Review: Gluten-Free Cheesy Veggie ‘Pasta’ Bake

I like spaghetti squash.

I like pasta.

Spaghetti squash, however, is not pasta. I understand that it looks like it, but it’s not. It doesn’t have the same texture, and it definitely doesn’t have the same taste. That doesn’t make it bad… it just makes it different. Why can’t we just call a spade a spade and call this a Cheesy Veggie Bake? It makes no sense to me.

I found this recipe here.

Gluten-Free Cheesy Veggie ‘Pasta’ Bake

Gluten-Free Cheesy Veggie ‘Pasta’ Bake

Serves: 6

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 whole spaghetti squash
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 red pepper, diced
  • 1 zucchini, diced
  • 1 carrot, shredded
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tomato, diced
  • 16 ounces tomato sauce
  • 4 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/4 cup shredded Parmesan

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Poke spaghetti squash all over with a knife and cook in the microwave for eight to 12 minutes until soft. If you don’t have a microwave, place the poked squash on a baking pan and bake at 375 degrees for 45 to 60 minutes. While that’s cooking, add the oil, garlic, pepper, zucchini, and carrots to a pan, cooking over medium heat.
  3. Cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds, and with a fork, scrape the flesh from the peel. It should flake off easily in strings, resembling spaghetti. Place the spaghetti squash flesh in a casserole dish. Add the cooked veggies, diced tomato, sauce, and most of the cheese and mix well. Sprinkle leftover cheese on top and bake for 30 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly.
  4. Allow to cool for five minutes, serve, and enjoy!

THOUGHTS

  • It’s delicious and definitely a healthy alternative to pasta. I love that this is covered in cheese… I love cheese and if I can eat cheese with a load of veggies them I’m all for it!
  • I cook my squash differently – I cut it in half and remove the seeds – then place cut-sides down in a 13×9 pyrex dish. Add 1” of water and 1 tablespoon of butter – bake at 350 for 30 minutes then CAREFULLY (it’s HOT!) scrape the flesh from the peel. It should flake off easily and resemble spaghetti noodles.
  • For a little bit of kick, you can add 1/2 tsp of crushed red pepper flakes.
  • I think this is definitely a crowd pleasing dish.

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Five Days Five Ways

Leave a Reply

