Recipe Review: Easy Bake Strata

So it’s Valentine’s Day and I think it’s only fair that I provide a recipe that you’re going to fall head over heels in love with!

I think I’ve mentioned this before but if not, I’ll mention it now… I don’t really like eggs.  I remember eating scrambled eggs nearly every weekend when I was a kid but for some reason as I got older I started to dislike them.  Now the flavor and texture of scrambled eggs will make me gag.  I do, however, like quiche and strata if it’s made correctly.  I’m weird, I know. 

I found this recipe ages ago… I think in a Kraft magazine.  Anyway, I never made it until now.  I needed some way to incorporate eggs into the Foods You Should Eat Every Day Challenge and since this also had lots of spinach in it which I happen to know is super good for you I decided to give it a go. 

Easy_Bake_Strata

Easy Bake Strata

Serves: 6

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • ½ cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 4 cups packed torn fresh spinach
  • 1 package (6 oz) Stove Top Stuffing Mix for Chicken (I used the low sodium version)
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 6 eggs
  • ¾ cup shredded mozzarella cheese

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray large skillet with cooking spray.  Add onion and red pepper; cook and stir on medium-high heat for 5 minutes or until softened.  Stir in spinach; set aside.
  2. Prepare stuffing mix as directed on package; stir in onion mixture and parsley.  Beat eggs; mix with stuffing mixture.  Pour into greased 8-inch square baking pan.  Sprinkle with cheese.
  3. Bake 35 minutes or until firm.  Cool 15 minutes.  Cut into strips or squares.  Serve warm or at room temperature. 

THOUGHTS

  • I thought this was absolutely delicious!!!  I thoroughly enjoyed eating it for breakfast for several days in a row and that says a lot.  I rarely like to eat the same things in a row. 
  • I think you could use yellow or orange bell pepper instead of red if that’s what you have on hand.  You could also use Swiss cheese instead of mozzarella. 
  • Sprinkling the cheese on top caused a distinct cheesy layer… I think the next time I bake this I’m going to try to stir the cheese in just a little bit.  I would prefer it more incorporated I think. 
  • This dish is super easy and I truly think it would be a crowd pleaser.  Serve with some applewood smoked bacon and fruit and you’ve got yourself a winner!

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

Remember, today is the 14th so it’s your day to practice a Random Act of Kindness in honor of Sandy Hook Elementary.  I’d love to hear what you do!  Please feel free to leave comments!  I will be posting my RAOK on the 16th.  See you then!

raok sandy hook

Leave a Reply

