In Honor and Remembrance: My February RAOK in Honor of Sandy Hook

Every month on the 14th I’m going to practice a Random Act of Kindness (RAOK) in honor of the 26 victims who lost their lives in the Sandy Hook tragedy on December 14, 2012.  If you didn’t read my original post, you can go here to check it out.

raok sandy hook

Yall!  I just cannot even begin to explain to you what an incredible experience this month’s RAOK was.  It was just so amazing!

If you haven’t figured it out yet, this month’s RAOK fell on Valentines Day which posed an interesting conundrum.  Most people would have plans… so what did that leave me with?  Well, I started thinking about those people that wouldn’t have plans and when I did that, nursing homes popped into my head.  In all likelihood I figured that those persons living in nursing homes or assisted living facilities would be in the back of other people’s minds on Valentines Day.  So, I decided I wanted to bring flowers to some nursing homes to hand out. 

And then a miracle happened.

flower muse

I contacted a bulk florist supplier called Flower Muse and presented them with my idea.  I told them what I wanted to do and why I was doing it and then I asked if they would be interested in sending me some flowers.  Never in a million years did I expect the blessing I received. 

They sent me 250 assorted roses. 

Yep, you read that right… 250. 

Do you have any idea what roses cost?  Especially on Valentines Day?!?!?!

I don’t think I could have purchased 250 roses with an entire paycheck!

You guys should have seen me the day that Flower Muse told me that they were going to make this donation to me.  I was freaking out and bouncing off the wall.  I even sent elated messages to my husband, my mom, and some of my best girlfriends.  God is SO GOOD and he gave me an immense blessing that day using Flower Muse as my angels. 

I should mention that not only were they a blessing but they were amazing to deal with.  Eleanor and I emailed back several times and she was fabulous.  I even received an email from their Customer Service department the day before the roses shipped telling me exactly how to care for them.  What service!

And the roses.  OMG the roses!  They were so fresh and smelled so incredible!  My whole house and my car smell like them now.  It’s fabulous.  And they’ve lasted great!

I received this enormous box on the 12th.

Picture 003 - edited

Then my husband and I set up a flower prep station in our living room on the night of the 12th and 13th and spent our evenings after dinner trimming the bottoms of the roses, taking off all of the thorns (don’t need any sweet old ladies bleeding!) and getting all of these beauties in fresh water. 

Picture 006 - edited Picture 009 - edited

Needless to say one of our new kittens was very curious about what was going on. 

Picture 007 - edited

Here’s what all these lovely roses looked like once they were ready to go…

Picture 017 - edited Picture 016 - edited

We received roses in the following colors: red, deep red, white, yellow, peach, pink, and flame kissed.  Just gorgeous!

Then, on the 14th, I loaded up my car (aka the flower taxi) and headed to the first Nursing Home/Assisted Living Facility. 

Picture 022 - edited Picture 024 - edited

Two of my girlfriends and one sweet little baby joined me for my expedition and we had a blast bring smiles to the faces of so many.  It was just an incredible experience. 

SAM_6761 - edited SAM_6764 - edited

I have to say that the baby may have been more of a hit than the flowers though.  Haha.  He’s pretty stinkin cute though so it’s ok. 

SAM_6760 - edited SAM_6759 - edited

Once everyone had a flower at location one we left and headed to location two for a repeat performance. 

We received so many questions about why we were handing out flowers, were we selling them, or what group were we with.  It was funny to see the expressions on their faces when we told them just because, they’re free, and we’re not with anyone.  They seemed truly surprised.  I just adored hearing stories from these ladies about how their husbands always brought them roses on Valentines Day and each lady had a reason why she picked the color rose she did (the yellow were a HUGE hit).  There’s lots of stories to be heard in these types of facilities. 

Probably the cutest and funniest thing that happened was at the last place we went we handed out flowers in the memory ward.  This is where persons suffering from Alzheimer’s and dementia live.  We met this very sweet old lady who, naturally, was repeating herself but she kept telling us how pretty we were and that if we were ugly, she wouldn’t want the flower we were giving her.  It totally cracked us up.  It’s always nice to hear you’re beautiful, especially on Valentines Day!

Once we’d visited those two facilities we still had lots of roses left over so we made a trip to my neighborhood to hand them out by the dozen to several sweet ladies who live nearby.  I live in an older neighborhood so there are lots of widows who I knew most likely wouldn’t be receiving anything on Valentines Day and I wanted to bless them.  One lady cried.  One was so shocked she just kept asking me “why?”  It was very sweet. 

All in all I don’t think my Valentines Day could have been any more special.  My husband blessed me with an amazing gift of service when he helped me to prepare 250 roses, I got to spend it with two of my besties and I got to bring smiles to the faces of nearly a hundred people.  You couldn’t ask for a better day!

What about you?  Did you do an RAOK on Thursday in honor of Sandy Hook?  I would love to hear your story!

Note:  I should mention that I was in no way asked to tell you guys about Flower Muse and how incredible they are… they’re just THAT incredible.  I highly recommend them if you’re looking for a bulk florist supplier for any reason!  I’m not the only one who loves them either.  You can read all about Michelle from 4 Men 1 Lady’s experience with her Flower Muse flowers by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

