Recipe Review: Salmon Croquettes

Do you have one of those recipes that you remember from your childhood?  You know, the one your mom would make and you always loved but yet you’ve never learned how to make it yourself?  That’s what salmon croquettes are for me.  We had them growing up on a fairly regular basis.  I’ve always loved them, but I’ve never learned to make them.  Therefore now, in my adult years, I crave them but the only way I ever get them is if I beg my mom to cook them for me.  Fortunately, she’s a nice mom and she does!

I actually detest salmon but when it’s cooked in croquette form, it’s DELISH!  This recipe couldn’t be any easier either. 

salmon

Salmon Croquettes

Serves: 3-4 (we made a double batch and it made 7 croquettes)

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 large can salmon, chilled (remove spine and smaller bones)
  • 3 Tablespoons finely chopped onion
  • 1 egg
  • Salt and pepper to taste (our family believes that lots of pepper is the key!)
  • Cracker meal
  • Oil for cooking (vegetable, canola, etc)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Mix salmon and onion loosely with spoon.
  2. Add egg, salt and pepper and stir until just combined.  Do not over mix. 
  3. Chill mixture in refrigerator for 30 minutes.
  4. Form into patties (like a hamburger) and roll in cracker crumbs.
  5. Heat approximately 1” of oil and cook patties until they’re golden brown. 
  6. Serve!  (Our family likes ours with either ketchup or tartar sauce). 

THOUGHTS

  • Occasionally you might need 2 eggs instead of one.  If the patties aren’t sticking together, add another egg and try again.  When we made these for the Food Challenge we doubled the recipe and used 2 cans of salmon and 3 eggs. 
  • The eggs and the chilling process are the key to getting these babies to hold together better. 
  • Note:  This is a family recipe out of a cookbook my mom has had for several decades.  The picture, however, is from here

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

One response to “Recipe Review: Salmon Croquettes

  1. Gail

    I know this note is late in coming, just found it on pinterest. I just made a batch of my grandmother’s salmon croquettes and thought i would see if other recipes were similar to mine, and yours is the most similar. Being from the south, of course we fry everything in cornmeal, but i learned something from you and that is to chill before patting the croquettes out-i always have trouble with my edges splitting. Thanks for the tip, will try that next time. As you described, these were a frequent family favorite-but a treat none-the-less. We serve ours with tobasco sauce. Again, thanks for the tip, will be looking at more of your recipes.

Leave a Reply

