Recipe Review: Chili-Cheese Black Bean Enchiladas

Hey guys – sorry for the hiatus.  Things are nuts at work and something just had to give.  But I’m baaaaaaaaack so let’s get started shall we?

I originally found this recipe here.  I’m not sure what drew me to it though since we’re not a big soy-eating family but nonetheless, it somehow found its way into my stack of recipes to try.  I tried it once, long ago, using the soy crumbles that it calls for… and can I just say yuck?  It’s not the taste that bothers me, it’s the texture.  I’m sorry but the texture of soy is just gross.  I can’t get behind it.  I thought the recipe had potential though so now we just make it with super-lean ground beef instead of the soy.  I also switched out the low fat/fat free items for the good stuff.  I’m sorry but fat free cheese just tastes like cardboard to me.  It’s not worth it. 

Even my Hispanic husband loves these enchiladas… just don’t tell his mom!  J

Chili-Cheese Black Bean Enchiladas

Chili-Cheese Black Bean Enchiladas

Serves: 4

INGREDIENTS

  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 pound super-lean ground beef (we like Laura’s)
  • 3/4 cup bottled salsa (we use Pace medium)
  • 1/3 cup (3 ounces) block-style cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup (4 ounces) shredded sharp cheddar cheese, divided
  • 12 to 16 (6-inch) corn tortillas
  • 1 (10-ounce) can red enchilada sauce

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Heat a large nonstick skillet coated with cooking spray over medium-high heat. Add onion, and sauté 4 minutes or until tender. Stir in cumin, oregano, chili powder, garlic, beans, and soy crumbles, and cook 2 minutes, stirring mixture frequently.
  3. Stir in salsa, and cook 1 minute. Remove from heat, and add cream cheese and 1/2 cup cheddar cheese, stirring until cheese melts.
  4. Warm tortillas according to package directions. Spread 1/3 cup enchilada sauce in bottom of a 13 x 9-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Spoon about 1/3 cup black bean mixture down center of each tortilla, and roll up. Arrange enchiladas, seam sides down, crosswise in dish. Pour remaining enchilada sauce evenly over enchiladas, and sprinkle with 1/2 cup cheddar. Bake at 350° for 20 minutes or until thoroughly heated.

THOUGHTS

  • As I mentioned above, you can check out the original source of this recipe if you want the meat-free low-fat version of this recipe, but trust me… my version is waaaaay tastier.  I say eat only 1 enchilada and have a large salad if you’re worried about the fat/calories. 
  • This dish definitely needs a side… a salad (if you want to be healthy about it) or you can go the traditional beans and rice route like you’d get in a Mexican restaurant.  My husband particularly likes this paired with rice and avocado. 
  • I am of the opinion that it takes 2 people to make this enchilada recipe a cinch… I heat the corn tortillas to soften them up (one at a time) and then I hand them to my hubby who fills them and rolls them.  It just makes really seamless.  So, get a helper if you can but if you cant, these are still totally worth the effort of doing them yourself. 

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

