Book Review: A Prisoner of Birth by Jeffrey Archer

jeffrey archer a prisoner of birth

Again, this is one of those books that I picked up from a garage sale.  I’d never heard of the author.  I didn’t even read the synopsis.  I just bought it, brought it home, stuck it on my bookshelves and started reading one day. 

I truly enjoyed this book.  It took a day or two for me to really get into it but once there was an injustice and there were wrongs that needed to be righted I was alllll over it.  Plus, I totally fell in love with the characters.  The main character, Danny Cartwright, is compelling in his own way but I truly fell for the supporting characters more than anything else.  Sir Nicholas Moncrieff, a fellow cellmate of Danny’s and his other cellmate Big Al were such wonderfully written and perfectly thought-out characters.  Then there’s Alex Redmayne, Danny’s tenacious defense lawyer, and his father the Hon. Sir Matthew Redmayne.  What a team they make!  If I’m ever in a legal mess, I want them to come defend me. 

I don’t want to give too much away because there are several stories and secrets going on in this book but let’s just say you won’t be bored.  It’s so much more than just a guy being wrongly accused of murder.  It’s been billed as a contemporary retelling of Alexander Dumas The Count of Monte Cristo.

What a fantastic read!  Here’s hoping I come across another Jeffrey Archer book in a garage sale sometime soon!

If Danny Cartwright had proposed to Beth Wilson the day before, or the day after, he would not have been arrested and charged with the murder of his best friend. And when the four prosecution witnesses are a barrister, a popular actor, an aristocrat and the youngest partner in an established firm’s history, who is going to believe his side of the story?

Danny is sentenced to 22 years and sent to Belmarsh prison, the highest security jail in the land, from where no inmate has ever escaped. But Spencer Craig, Lawrence Davenport, Gerald Payne and Toby Mortimer all underestimate Danny’s determination to seek revenge and Beth’s relentless quest to win justice, which forces all four protagonists to fight for their lives.

Synopsis from here.  

Remember, today is the 14th so it’s your day to practice a Random Act of Kindness in honor of Sandy Hook Elementary.  I’d love to hear what you do!  Please feel free to leave comments!  I will be posting my RAOK on the 16th.  See you then!

raok sandy hook

Leave a Reply

