In Honor and Remembrance: My March RAOK in Honor of Sandy Hook

raok sandy hook

As I’m writing this, it’s actually the 18th but the other day, on the 14th, I did a Random Act of Kindness in honor of Sandy Hook Elementary.  You can read about my year-long pledge here

Hi friends. 

I’m so sorry for being a few days late with my RAOK for March.  It was a crazy week last week.  I actually spent the week in Calgary for work.  I flew home on the 14th and was able to squeeze in an RAOK on the way home.

We stopped for dinner at one of our favorite Mexican restaurants, Gringo’s.  Right before we paid our tab I scouted the surrounding tables to see if anyone caught my eye.  As luck would have it, there was this absolutely adoreable elderly couple across the room from us.  I asked our waitress to have their waiter come over and when he did, I told them I wanted to pay for their dinner.  He looked at me like I was from Mars, but he brought me their tab.  I paid it in full and then wrote this message for them:

photo-edited

(note: I also marked through the ‘total’ and wrote ‘paid in full’)

I also gave both our waitress and their waiter a 50% tip. 

Then we left. 

Yep, that’s right.  We didn’t stick around to see their reactions.  We just wanted to bless them. 

It felt great to do something small for someone else especially when I was having a crazy day.  Sometimes when we’re really busy, we forget to take a moment to focus on someone other than ourselves. 

What Random Act of Kindness did you perform this month?

One response to “In Honor and Remembrance: My March RAOK in Honor of Sandy Hook

  1. Pingback: In Honor and Remembrance: My April RAOK in Honor of Sandy Hook | Changing My Marbles

Leave a Reply

