Recipe Review: Baked Ricotta With Roasted Garlic and Tomatoes

I found this recipe in a Health magazine (or perhaps on their website, I can’t keep it all straight anymore).  I have no idea what drew me to it but it’s easy and pretty darn yummy. 

Baked Ricotta With Roasted Garlic and Tomatoes

Baked Ricotta With Roasted Garlic and Tomatoes

Serves:  4

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/4 of a sourdough loaf
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 6 ounces part-skim ricotta
  • 2 medium tomatoes, cubed
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • Basil leaves

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Slice sourdough loaf into batons, brush with 2 teaspoons olive oil, and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  3. Bake 8-9 minutes.
  4. Heat 2 tablespoons olive oil in a small cast iron pan over medium heat for 2-3 minutes. Add garlic to pan and cook until bubbling and fragrant, about one minute more.
  5. Place ricotta in the pan, transfer to oven, and bake until bubbly (9-10 minutes).
  6. Remove.
  7. Toss cubed tomatoes with crushed red pepper; spoon over ricotta.
  8. Sprinkle with basil leaves and serve with toasted bread.

THOUGHTS

  • I served this the other night for girls night and the ladies seemed to quite enjoy it.  I thought it was rather tasty myself.
  • If you want to add the variety of color that you see in the photos you need to use different kinds of heirloom tomatoes.  Or, you can be plain and boring like me and just use red ones.  Haha.
  • This dish doesn’t reheat particularly well so I’d serve it in a setting where you think all of it will be eaten. 
  • I think 2 Tablespoons of oil is a bit much.  When I make this next time I might cut that in half. 

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

