Recipe Review: Chocolate Covered S’more Sandwiches

So I made these babies on Sunday to bring to work with me on Monday.  I put them in the kitchen around lunch time and they were loooong gone in less than an hour.  That means that several people at more than one, and these babies aren’t small.  If you’re looking to please a crowd, then these are a good choice!  Do note, however, that there are lots of crumbs that fall when people eat them.  Unless you want some cleanup on your hands, I’d suggest that these be served outside (they’d be great for a picnic).

I found the original idea for this here and I’m using her pictures because 1) they’re better than anything I’d take and 2) I suck at remembering to take pictures of the things I cook.  🙂

Chocolate Covered S'More Sandwiches 2
     Source

Chocolate Covered S’more Sandwiches

Serves:  20+

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 box graham crackers
  • 1 bag jumbo marshmallows (I saw that there are some flat-ish rectangular shaped ones in the store now… if I were to make these again, I think I’d try those instead of the round marshmallows)
  • Dipping chocolate (I like to use chocolate made especially for fondue.  I find it has a creamier consistency and is easier to work with)
  • Hershey bars, chocolate chips, or any kind of plain chocolate for placing inside the s’more
  • Sprinkles, optional

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Break your graham crackers in half so that you have two still attached two each other side by side and place them on a large baking sheet.
  3. Cover half of your graham crackers with a marshmallow and the other half with your “inside” chocolate.

Chocolate Covered S'More Sandwiches

     Source

  1. Place in oven and watch carefully!  The marshmallows will expand quickly.
  2. Once marshmallows have expanded and chocolate is melted pull baking sheet from oven and quickly sandwich one marshmallow piece with one chocolate piece (we found it was easier to take the marshmallow piece to the chocolate piece and place the marshmallow piece on top).
  3. Melt your dipping chocolate according to the manufacturers instructions.  Then, take your sandwiches and dip the bottom half in the chocolate – place on a wax paper lined baking sheet or cutting board.  Sprinkle with sprinkles if desired.  Once your sheet/board is full you can place in the refrigerator for quicker set up if you’d like.  Otherwise, leave at room temperature and they should set up in 1 to 2 hours.
  4. Serve immediately or store in an airtight container overnight.

THOUGHTS

  • As previously mentioned, these were a hit in my office.  They are a bit messy to eat so I’d serve in an outside environment if possible (like a picnic).  Our office floor was covered in graham cracker crumbs.  J
  • We did not use the sprinkles and we let everything set up at room temperature instead of in the refrigerator.
  • When our container of dipping chocolate was getting shallow we used a basting brush to brush the chocolate onto the bottom half of the s’more.  Painting with chocolate… gotta love it.

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

