Daily Mini-Cleanse Fruit Challenge

apple_logo_rainbow_fruit
     Source

I’m not much of a fruit eater.  I loooove veggies, and don’t get me wrong, I like fruit, but if I have my choice, I’ll choose the veggies every time.  I think this is because I’m more of a savory rather than sweet person.  I’d choose chips and queso over brownies any day of the week.  Anyhow, several years ago I read this book called The Raw Food Detox Diet  and while I don’t necessarily agree 100% with everything she has to say, I really thought her section about eating fruit by itself in the morning was really interesting.  Here’s the basic idea of her book… above and beyond eating good-for-you foods (i.e. no processed foods) the key to staying skinny is optimizing your digestive tract.  What this means is that your body either needs to use it or lose it as quickly as possible.  Therefore, according to Rose (that’s the author of the book) the way you pair your foods matters.  And, when it comes to fruit, it should be eaten ALONE! and on an empty stomach.  Why you ask?  Because it takes your body only 30-45 minutes to process a piece of fruit (depending what kind it is) and if you pair that with something else that takes longer to digest (which is basically everything else) then the longer-digesting items will basically rot in your digestive tract because of the quick-digestion of the fruit.  Does that make any sense?  I’m not sure I explained that clearly but nonetheless, that’s the idea.  So, her rule of thumb is this… eat fruit every morning for breakfast with nothing else.  Then, wait 45 minutes before you eat something that isn’t a piece of fruit.

I’ve always struggeled with finding healthy breakfast options.  I don’t like most breakfast meats like bacon or sausage (granted, I’m not sure I’d call them ‘healthy’) or eggs.  I cannot stand the consistency of oatmeal (gag!).  Many times that left me with not-so-healthy options or nothing at all.  In high school, I ate a corndog and drank a SlimFast every morning.  No joke.  Well, that was one thing when I was in my teens and training in competitive swimming for hours every day but now that I’m nearly 30, not so much.  So, I decided to take on a fruit challenge.

The plan?  Eat at least 3 pieces of fruit for breakfast every day for 6 weeks (they say it takes 6 weeks to form a habit).

Well, it’s been 8 weeks and I’m happy to report that this challenge has been a success!  I now crave fruit every morning and it’s become second nature to purchase 21+ pieces of fruit each week at the grocery store.  I’m not going to lie, the first week sucked.  After four days I was like ‘if I never see another piece of fruit ever again I’ll be fine!’ So, on days 5-7 I didn’t eat my fruit and you know what?  I felt like crap!  I mean seriously, I felt bloated, heavy and awful.  So, on day 8 it was back to the fruit challenge and I’ve managed to keep it up… even through vacation and everything!  Whoo hoo!

A regular work day for me has me getting to my cubicle at 8:30am.  I set down my bags, turn on my computer, and head to the kitchen to cut up my fruit.  Then I come back with a plate looking like this…

photo-edited

Then, I proceed to nibble on it for about the next 2-3 hours.  Sometimes, it takes longer, sometimes shorter.  It really depends on the fruit choices of the day.

Here’s what I’ve noticed:

  1. Without being gross let’s just say that when you change what goes in your body, it drastically changes what comes out of your body.  In my case, this has been a welcome change that I wasn’t eve really aware that I needed
  2. Because I graze for several hours, I’m not hungry for lunch until at least noon, sometimes much later.  Before, I was normally starving by about 10:30 or even earlier.
  3. I crave fruit!!!  This statement still sounds completely crazy to me but it’s true.  I want it.  I need it.  Fruit is my friend!
  4. The lack of thought that has to go in to my breakfast meal plan is a huge relief.  I know it’s going to be fruit.  I don’t have to stress when we go out of town to visit friends and family and wonder “what if they’re having bacon and eggs for breakfast???”  I can just bring a mixed bag of fruit with me and I’m good to go.
  5. I feel way less bloated than I did before.
  6. I drink less water but feel more hydrated.  I’m getting lots of natural fruit juice from the fruits so I’m not downing 4 bottles of water at work anymore (it’s closer to 2 now).
  7. My hypoglycemia has been under better control.  There’ve been less dips (and therefore shakes & gitters) than ever before.

I know there are some people out there freaking out about the sugar and carbohydrates in fruit but here’s my take on it:  3 pieces of fruit is lower in calories, carbs, and basically every bad thing than any other breakfast option I was eating before hand plus it’s DEFINITELY higher in antioxidants and probably fiber as well as various other vitamins.  (If you want more info on this particular topic, I like this article here.)

If you’re wondering, no I haven’t lost any weight by making this change.  I have gained any either though and my body feels soooo much better.

My fruit staples:

  • Pineapple
  • Watermelon
  • Jazz apples
  • Oranges
  • Clementines (Cuties)
  • Red Grapefruit
  • Bananas
  • Kiwi
  • Strawberries

So, am I going to continue doing fruit for breakfast?  Yep, I most certainly am!  Also, now that this challenge has been completed I’ve started a new one which I’ll tell you about soon!

Leave a Reply

