Recipe Review: Martha Stewart’s One-Pot Pasta

So I was telling my husband last night that I didn’t feel like it was appropriate for people to give me kudos and praise when I make something tasty because 99.9% of the time I am following a recipe that someone else created.  I mean, doesn’t that mean that the creator of the recipe should get the credit and not me?  How hard is it to follow a recipe?  Well, when I made this dish from Martha Stewart it sort of drilled my point home… there’s no actual recipe.  It’s a list of ingredients (without quantities) and directions.  I wanted to love this dish, but we didn’t.  It was edible but that’s about the best I can say.  Does that make it a fail for me, for Martha, or both???

Martha Stewart's One-Pot Pasta

Martha Stewart’s One-Pot Pasta

Serves: 4 (the way I made it at least)

INGREDIENTS

  • Pasta of choice (we used one box of linguine, but the recipe calls for penne)
  • Broccoli (we used a package of frozen broccoli florets)
  • Olive oil (we just drizzled until desired consistency)
  • Garlic cloves (we used 6)
  • Salt & pepper (to taste)
  • Lemon juice & zest (we used one small lemon)
  • Parmesan cheese (LOTS!)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Boil penne 6 minutes less than al dente; add broccoli florets, and cook until penne is al dente. Drain; return to the pot, and toss with a couple of crushed garlic cloves, some olive oil, the zest and juice of a lemon, salt and pepper, and plenty of Parmesan.

THOUGHTS

  • I think I’d try to make this again and see if I can get it to work out better.  I think I’d use half butter and half olive oil.
  • I also think we didn’t use enough salt or cheese so we’ll probably use more of both next time.
  • The nice thing is that we usually have all the ingredients for this dish on hand which means if I’m ever in need of a quick-fix meal, I can whip this up.

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

