Book Review: Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich

Fearless Fourteen by Janet Evanovich

So I’ve read another book by Janet Evanovich before, it was called Metro Girl and while I don’t remember much of the story line I do remember laughing my ass off and recommending the book to pretty much everyone I came across.

I’ve seen this particular series (Stephanie Plum series) in stores for quite some time now but I’ve never picked up one of the books because I always feel like if I buy one book in a series, I have to buy them all… and there are 19 books in this series.  Who can realistically afford to buy 19 books at one time?  I realize that this is my craziness showing but still, that’s why I’ve never purchased them.

Anyway, it just so happens that I purchased this book with a group of books-in-a-box that I got at a garage sale a while back.  I put it in my back and started reading it on a Friday afternoon when I went after work to get a pedicure….

Ya’ll, I laughed so hard during the pedicure that the lady working on my toes was 1) yelling at me to quit moving my feet and 2) giggling at my hysterics.  In fact, pretty much every single person in the salon asked me what I was reading because I was making such a ruckus laughing so hard that tears were streaming down my face.

I read 130 pages in the time it took for me to get a pedicure.  I’m a fast reader normally but that’s fast even for me.  The book flows so naturally that you practically speed read the thing.  It’s 300-someodd pages and I finished it in less than 24 hours… the only time I read was during my pedicure, about an hour before bed, and about an hour the next morning.  It was THAT good.

I highly recommend it and any of her other books.  She’s 2 for 2 as far as I’m concerned and I imagine that all the rest are just as good.  I might just have to go to Half Price this weekend and score the rest of the series.  J  (speaking of which… even though this book is #14 out of #19 I didn’t feel like I was coming in on the middle.  They can totally be read as individual novels or a series.)

Here’s a synopsis from her website:

The Crime: Armed robbery to the tune of nine million dollars

Dom Rizzi robbed a bank, stashed the money and did the time. His family couldn’t be more proud. He always was the smart one.

The Cousin: Joe Morelli

Joe Morelli, Dom Rizzi and Dom’s sister Loretta are cousins. Morelli is a cop, Rizzi robs banks, and Loretta is a single mother waiting tables at the firehouse. The all American family.

The Complications: Murder, kidnapping, destruction of personal property, and acid reflux

Less than a week after Dom’s release from prison, Joe Morelli has shadowy figures breaking into his house and dying in his basement. He’s getting threatening messages, Loretta is kidnapped, and Dom is missing.

The Catastrophe: Moonman

Morelli hires Walter “Mooner” Dunphy, stoner and “inventor” turned crime-fighter to protect his house. Morelli can’t afford a lot on a cop’s salary, and Mooner will work for potatoes.

The Cupcake: Stephanie Plum

Stephanie and Morelli have a long-standing relationship that involves sex, affection and driving each other nuts. She’s a bond enforcement agent with more luck than talent, and she’s involved in this bank-robbery-gone-bad disaster from day one.

The Crisis: A favor for Ranger

Security expert Carlos Manoso, street name Ranger, has a job for Stephanie that will involve night-work. Morelli has his own ideas regarding Stephanie’s evening activities.

The Conclusion: Only the fearless should read fourteen

Thrills, chills and possible incontinence may result.

Leave a Reply

