So some things have changed since we last talked…

move

We moved.

Old house: owned, 40 years old, major renovations needed, 2 stories, 2500sqft, enormous corner lot, 45 minute commute (for me)

New house: rental, less than 5 years old, no repairs needed, 1 story, 1100sqft, itty bitty postage stamp lot, 1.5hr commute (for  me)

What I’m loving: NO MORE REPAIRS!  One story.

What I’m tolerating: 1100sqft.  1.5 hr commute.

She sleeps in the sweetest positions.

Abbie sleeps in the sweetest positions.

How can you not fall in love with this??

How can you not fall in love with this??

The day she came home.

The day she came home.

Aurora and Widgit... also known as sweet n sassy.

Aurora and Widgit… also known as sweet n sassy.

We have a new addition.

Her name is Abbie and I am head over heels.

It was NOT an easy transition.  The dog (Lita) adjusted fine other than giving me the “another one?!?!” look when we brought Abbie home.  Aurora (our chubby longhaired Maine Coon mix) was fine within a day and immediately tried to start bathing Abbie.  Widgit (our white/tabby problem child) was an absolute nightmare.  She hissed and growled and became abusive (to the cats, to us, and to the house) and it lasted for weeks.  Things have *mostly* calmed down now.

vegan

Hubby and I did a two week soy-free, grain-free vegan detox at the beginning of the year.  I actually enjoyed it so much that I’m trying to maintain it.  I’m doing what I refer to as the 80/20 plan meaning that 80% of the time I’m a soy-free, grain-free vegan and 20% of the time (or 4 meals a week) I can eat something I normally wouldn’t (like fish or quinoa).  I keep getting on the wagon and then falling off and then getting back on again but I’ll tell you this – I absolutely 100% feel better when I’m ON the wagon.  (If you’re wondering why we’re soy-free, you can read more about that here.)

What major changes have happened in your life in the last 6 months?  I’d love to hear about them.

Leave a Reply

