Recipe Review: Zucchini Fritters

So I found this recipe via Martha Stewart and tried it out last weekend for our Easter Sunday family meal. My mom loved it, I liked the flavor but not the texture, and my husband hated it. Have I told you how much my family likes playing guinea pig for me??

The dish has a light flavor but you can definitely taste the lemon. If you’re not a fan of lemon, I’d cut the quantity of lemon zest in half or perhaps substitute it entirely for something else (such as scallions). I think this dish paired well with the Parmesan Crusted Flounder and Roasted Broccoli with Smashed Garlic I served (I’ll share those recipes soon) and due to its light flavor would likely pair well with just about anything.

Zucchini Fritters


Zucchini Fritters

Serves: not listed on the recipe itself but when I made it, it produced 9-12 fritters

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound zucchini
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated lemon zest (1 lemon) plus
  • 1 lemon, cut into 8 wedges (optional)
  • 10 sprigs fresh flat-leaf parsley, stems removed and leaves finely chopped, plus more sprigs for garnish (optional) (I used a half Tablespoon of freeze dried, refrigerated parsley)
  • 1 medium clove garlic, peeled and minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 to 4 tablespoons olive oil

DIRECTIONS

  1. Click here.

THOUGHTS

  • Part of the texture that I didn’t like is that these got nice and crunchy outside but were kind of mushy on the inside. To combat this, next time I will grate the zucchini into a colander, sprinkle with salt and let drain for at least 1 hour.
  • While the recipe calls for 2-4 Tablespoons of olive oil I found that I had to use quite a lot more than that.
  • Sidenote: A cup of chopped zucchini contains 22 milligrams of vitamin C, which is 24 percent of the recommended daily intake for men and 29 percent for women, set by the Institute of Medicine (according to this article).

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

