Recipe Review: French Onion Pan Rolls

Did you grow up eating bread with nearly every dinner meal?  I’m fairly certain this is a regional thing but here in the south it seems as though a lot of families serve some sort of bread with dinner.  My family, however, was not that way.  My husbands family though is a different story.  When we first got together he would come over several nights a week and I would cook dinner.  I remember him asking a few times ‘where’s the bread?’ and I kept thinking ‘what bread?’  I finally told him that my family didn’t serve bread with every dinner unless it was Italian food – that almost always came with garlic bread.

Occasionally I’ll try to incorporate bread into whatever I’m cooking for dinner but usually only if it calls for it.  Spaghetti with garlic bread, chili with cornbread, etc.

The other day I mentioned that I made Bean and Pasta Soup (which was delish) and I decided to serve these nifty rolls to go alongside.  It was a great pairing!

You can view the original source of the recipe here.

French Onion Pan Rolls

Yield:  20 rolls

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 loaves (1 pound each) frozen bread dough, thawed
  • 1 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 envelope onion soup mix
  • ½ cup butter, melted

DIRECTIONS

  1. Divide the bread dough into 20 portions; shape each into a ball (note: grease wax paper or foil to ease sticking).  In a shallow bowl, combine cheese and soup mix.  Place butter in another shallow bowl.
  2. Roll each ball in butter, then in the cheese mixture.  Arrange in a greased 13×9 inch baking dish.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 45 minutes.
  3. Bake at 350 for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown.  Remove from dish to wire rack.  Serve warm.

THOUGHTS

  • You definitely want to put your parmesan cheese and onion soup in a food processor and pulse until ground up.  You get a much more even coating this way.  (Alternately, if you don’t have a food processor you can double bag in a sandwich bag, squeeze out the air, then beat it with a meat tenderizing hammer).
  • If you’re not a baker (ahem, mom) you can still totally make these since you’re using pre-made dough.  All you have to do is allow enough time for your frozen bread to thaw.  Check the packaging!  It takes about 5 hours so this is super important!
  • These cook up nice and soft with this cheesy crust on the outside.  Absolutely delicious!  They were just as good the next day wrapped in foil and warmed in the oven for a few minutes.  Husband is already asking when we can have these again!

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Bloom Designs
Chef in Training
Delightful Order
Ginger Snap Crafts
Home Stories A to Z
I Heart Naptime
My Girlish Whims
One Artsy Mama
Skip to my Lou
This Gal Cooks
Uncommon Designs
Under the Table and Dreaming

Leave a comment