Recipe Review: Mini Mushroom-&-Sausage Quiches

In an effort to start incorporating some healthy foods into my diet I decided to give these babies a try.  I’m not really a fan of eggs in general, but I do like quiche.  I love mushrooms, which are very healthy for you, so this sounded like a good recipe to try.  (FYI – mushrooms are a good source of B Vitamins and Vitamin D, may promote immune function, are high in antioxidants, and are high in Selenium.  Check out this article.)

Mini Mushroom-&-Sausage Quiches

Mini Mushroom-&-Sausage Quiches

Makes: 4 dozen mini quiche

INGREDIENTS

  • 8 ounces turkey breakfast sausage, removed from casing and crumbled into small pieces (I used a half of a ‘roll’ of Jimmy Dean’s hot breakfast sausage which is pork, not turkey)
  • 1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 8 ounces mushrooms, sliced
  • ¼ cup sliced scallions
  • ¼ cup shredded Swiss cheese
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 cup 1% milk

DIRECTIONS

  1. Position rack in center of oven; preheat to 325°F. Coat a nonstick muffin tin generously with cooking spray.
  2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add sausage and cook until golden brown, 6 to 8 minutes. Transfer to a bowl to cool. Add oil to the pan. Add mushrooms and cook, stirring often, until golden brown, 5 to 7 minutes. Transfer mushrooms to the bowl with the sausage. Let cool for 5 minutes. Stir in scallions, cheese and pepper.
  3. Whisk eggs, egg whites and milk in a medium bowl. Divide the egg mixture evenly among the prepared muffin cups. Sprinkle a heaping tablespoon of the sausage mixture into each cup.
  4. Bake until the tops are just beginning to brown, 25 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes. Place a rack on top of the pan, flip it over and turn the quiches out onto the rack. Turn upright and let cool completely.

Make Ahead Tip: Individually wrap in plastic and refrigerate for up to 3 days or freeze for up to 1 month. To reheat, remove plastic, wrap in a paper towel and microwave on High for 30 to 60 seconds.

THOUGHTS

  • The flavor of these is good but the texture doesn’t resemble that of other quiche I’ve had.  These are a bit more chewy.  I’m not sure if I’m microwaving them too long or if it’s because the quiche I’ve had in the past is vegetable quiche.
  • I think I would prefer these with a bit more scallion and cheese.
  • I would make these again if I was having a brunch for friends, but I’m not certain I would make them just for me.

You can view all of the recipes I’ve posted by clicking here.

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Alderberry Hill
Between Naps on the Porch
Beyond the Picket Fence
Bloom Designs
Chef in Training
Chic on a Shoestring
Classy Clutter
Craftionary
Crafty Confessions
Creatively Living
Delicate Construction
Delightful Order
DIY Home Sweet Home
DIY Show Off
Fireflies and Jelly Beans
Ginger Snap Crafts
Handy Man, Crafty Woman
Happy Hour Projects
Home Stories A to Z
Homemaker on a Dime
Homework
House of Hepworths
I Gotta Create
I Heart Nap Time
It’s Overflowing
Ivy and Elephants
JAQS Studio
Kammy’s Korner
Lil Luna
Live Laugh Rowe
Made in a Day
Making the World Cuter
Mod Vintage Life
My Girlish Whims
Not Just a Housewife
One Artsy Mama
Skip to my Lou
Uncommon Designs
Under the Table and Dreaming

2 responses to “Recipe Review: Mini Mushroom-&-Sausage Quiches

  1. These look really tasty. Thanks for sharing 🙂 I found you via Delicate Construction

    Hilary

  2. Wow these look delicious! I think by mornings end, I might have eaten myself into a coma!
    So yummy! Thanks so much for sharing with us!
    Hugs,
    Patti

Leave a comment