How to make a little somethin’ somethin’ with buttons…

Remember the other day when I mentioned that I was totally overwhelmed and frustrated because I wanted to craft but just didn’t have the time (among a lot of other things)?  Well, that same day in a fit of frustration I scrolled through my zillions of craft ideas that I keep on my computer, picked one, and went to Joann’s.

This is my inspiration photo:

Peggy, the amazing creator of this fabulous image, has other amazing letters available at her Etsy shop.

Here are some of my favorites:

I have a secret for you though… I have NO IDEA how to sew on a button.  Sad huh?  Fortunately since these little buttons don’t have to be functional in any way I didn’t need to know how to actually sew one on.

So, here’s what I picked up from Joann’s:

  • Pre-stretched canvas (8×10)
  • Fabric – I purchased 1/3 yard (you’ll need to adjust this depending on the size of your canvas)
  • Buttons – I chose red because they popped but you can choose whatever color you like best with your fabric, the buttons need to be in varying sizes (note: I also used some large matching beads because my letter had some really skinny parts and I couldn’t find buttons that small)
  • Embroidery hoop
  • Embroidery thread in a matching color (should match the color of your buttons)

Here’d what I needed from my stash at home:

  • Staple gun
  • Printed letter (using your computer and Microsoft Word size your paper to the size of your canvas, choose a font that you like and make it as large as possible, print)
  • Scissors
  • Straight pins

Instructions:

  1. Cut out your letter very carefully
  2. Pin your letter to your fabric
  3. Place embroidery hoop over fabric and letter.  You should have this… 
  4. Begin placing buttons however they look best to you – you’ll do this by threading your needle, tying a knot in the end, then bringing the thread up through the ‘bottom’ of the fabric, through one button hole, then down through another.  If there are four holes in your button, repeat this step.
  5. Keep repeating until your letter is covered with buttons
  6. To remove the paper letter – use small scissors and tweezers to cut and remove the pieces underneath the buttons.  Be very careful not to cut your thread or fabric.
    (note:  this is a very difficult way of doing this, if you want, instead of pinning your paper letter to your fabric you can use an erasable fabric marker to trace your letter onto your fabric.  However, please note that your creation will have to be washed in order to remove the ink.  You will need to adhere your buttons accordingly.)
  7. Once complete, carefully center your fabric onto your canvas (you can use some spray adhesive to keep it steady if you want).  Flip it over and use your staple gun to adhere the fabric to the back.  Make sure you’re stapling into the wooden frame.
  8. You’re done!  Admire your handiwork!

Here’s my finished product:

It has sort of a 4th of July feel to it doesn’t it?  I wasn’t actually going for that but it works out well considering Independence Day will be here sooner than we know it.  We actually don’t have any blue or red in our house so this’ll make for some fun holiday decoration for us.  I’m hoping to try this again in some different colors.

Now, my finished project in no way looks as amazing as Peggy’s finished products but then again, I’m not selling mine or giving it away as a gift to anyone.   I’m just glad I finally made something crafty.  Yay!

I’ve linked up to these great parties:

Bloom Designs, Skip to My Lou, and Chef in Training.

As well as…


One Artsy Mama

By Stephanie Lynn

Photobucket

45 responses to “How to make a little somethin’ somethin’ with buttons…

  1. This is such a cute idea. I think I have two in mind already to give as christmas presents.

  2. Aww thanks! I’m really glad you liked it! I love how easy it is to personalize! Make sure you send me pictures of what you create. I’d love to see it!

  3. Pingback: Tuesday Talent Show #51 | chef in training

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday to Me! « changingmymarbles

  5. Pingback: And then… sometimes… God hits you upside the head with a 2×4 « changingmymarbles

  6. Pingback: 2012 Wrap Up « changingmymarbles

  7. Pingback: 2013 « changingmymarbles

  8. Pingback: How To Make A Button Monogram - I Love DIY

  9. Pingback: Button Monogram Wall Art!

  10. Sylvia

    Why couldn’t you just glue them?

    • I guess you could if you could find a glue with good long term sticking power. Hot glue, for example, wouldn’t be a long lasting option.
      I prefer sewing them in because once they’re on those suckers aren’t going anywhere!

  11. Pingback: The buttons among us | Creative Home Ideas

  12. Pingback: How To Make A Button Monogram

  13. Pingback: How To Make A Button Monogram | DIY Cozy Home

  14. Pingback: How To Make A Button Monogram

  15. Pingback: How To Make A Button Monogram | Content inspirations

  16. Pingback: How To Make A Button Monogram | Diy & Crafts

  17. Pingback: LA Rug Somethin 'Fishy Rug 19 "x29" - Choose My Room

  18. Pingback: How To Make A Button Monogram | Health Daily Artile

  19. Bossyvossy

    What size was letter and approx how many buttons? Using yours as inspiration

  20. heather

    One way to adhere the paper letter without having to carefully cut it later is to draw it backwards on the back of the fabric. Work over a small desk lamp so you can shine the light through the fabric. This way you don’t have to carefully cut it away in the end.

  21. Pingback: DIY Button Monogram Art Tutorial | Home Design, Garden & Architecture Blog Magazine

  22. Pingback: DIY Button Monogram Art Tutorial - Creative Fingers - Proiecte DIY, idei creative pentru decoratiuni casa si gradina

  23. Pingback: DIY botón monograma arte tutorial | diseño para el hogar

  24. Pingback: DIY botón monograma arte tutorial | diseño para el hogar

  25. Pingback: How To Make Canvas Art With Buttons | DIY Tag

  26. Pingback: How To Make Canvas Art With Buttons | Do It Yourself Solutions

  27. Pingback: How To Make Canvas Art With Buttons - DIY Instructions

  28. Rochelle

    Why do you need to cut the letter out? If you are going to tear the paper away anyway, couldn’t you just leave it as is from the printer and tear it all away when done sewing buttons?

  29. Pingback: Friday File 17 | Healthy Simplicity

  30. Pingback: DIY Button Monogram Art Tutorial

  31. Pingback: Would love to do this for baby girls gallery wall... - Home's Decor's DIY

  32. Pingback: Shabby Chic Monograms - Shabby Chic Nursery Decorating

  33. Pingback: 30+ DIY Letter Ideas & Tutorials - Hative

  34. Pingback: How to make a little somethin’ somethin’ with buttons… – colleen339

  35. Pingback: Awesome DIY Letter Projects - DIYCraftsGuru

  36. Pingback: 15 Creative DIY Ideas You Can Make At Home By Using Buttons | homedesignfind

  37. Pingback: 15 Creative DIY Ideas You Can Make At Home By Using Buttons - The Veranda of ideas

  38. Pingback: Telling Tuesday’s – Buttons – Family Bugs Blogging

  39. Pingback: How To Make A Button Monogram – carriecorsondesign.com

  40. Pingback: 25 Creative DIY Ideas and Tutorials to Make Decorative Letters - Crafts Booming

  41. Pingback: 15 DIY Gifts For Mom – M&J Blog

Leave a comment